An ill-timed shank and a rules infraction may have cost Justin Rose a weekend tee time at the RBC Canadian Open.

Rose was assessed a two-stroke penalty on the par-3 seventh, his third-to-last hole of his second round Friday, after causing the ball to move before his second shot. The penalty moved him from 3-under to 1-under.

Rose arrived at the seventh hole 3-under, right on the projected cutline. He shanked his tee shot into thick rough, right of the green, and when he arrived he caused the ball to move while moving a loose impediment. Rose then failed to replace the ball in its original position, resulting in a two-stroke penalty. Had Rose put the ball back in its original position, it would have only been a one-stroke penalty.

Rose self-reported the incident, according to Orlando Pop

See Full Page