Jean-Philippe Mateta was given a lifeline while giving Crystal Palace the lead against Manchester United.
The Frenchman, who has been superb from the spot for the Eagles, almost cost his side when a double touch of the ball ruled out his 36th minute opener.
However, thanks to a recent rule change , he was allowed to re-take the attempt, and put it away past Senne Lammens once again.
Had Mateta been guilty of the double touch last season, his first attempt would have been overruled and play would have continued.
Yet the France striker has former Manchester City man Julian Alvarez to thank, with his double touch in last season’s Champions League knockout stages prompting a re-writing of the rules.
The Atletico Madrid striker scored in the shoot-out against arch rivals Real Madrid,

talkSPORT

Daily Star Latest
Raw Story
The Daily Beast
IMDb TV
The Guardian F1
CBS News
AlterNet
New York Post
Massillon Independent