The opinions found in Asked and Answered do not reflect the views of the Steelers organization.
Let's get to it:
DON NEWCOMER FROM PITTSBURGH, PA: There was a muffed punt that hit a Colts player and was then plucked out of the air by Brandin Echols who then took it into the end zone. Why was this NOT ruled a touchdown?
ANSWER: You correctly described it as a muffed punt, and the rule is that in those situations the ball can be recovered by the kicking team but it cannot be advanced. Brandin Echols recovered the muffed punt, and the Steelers were given the ball at the spot of the recovery. For that to have been a touchdown, the Colts player would have had to possess the ball, make a football move, and then fumbled. Then the recovery could have been advanced.
Download and listen to the A

 NFL Pittsburgh Steelers

 Sturgis Journal
 NFL News
 NFL Jacksonville Jaguars
 NFL Seattle Seahawks
 Bozeman Daily Chronicle
 Newsday
 The Daily Sentinel
 Deadline Detroit
 The Denver Post
 Mediaite