DENVER (AP) — Brian Callahan stands corrected — unlike the call he failed to challenge.
The Titans’ second-year coach said Monday that he did know the NFL catch rule and misspoke about why he didn’t throw his red challenge flag in Tennessee’s 20-12 loss at Denver on Sunday after his rookie wide receiver made an acrobatic catch but was ruled to have come down out of bounds.
On first-and-20 with the Titans trailing by a point late in the third quarter, Elic Ayomanor raced down the Tennessee sideline, leaped over cornerback Riley Moss and hauled in a 21-yard pass from Cam Ward.
Ayomanor appeared to get his right elbow down inbounds before any other part of his body hit the white line out of bounds. When the officials ruled an incompletion, however, Callahan didn’t challenge the call an