NEWYou can now listen to Fox News articles!
Auburn head football coach Hugh Freeze wasn’t happy with the officiating in his team’s loss to Oklahoma on Sunday, and the SEC admitted a crucial touchdown shouldn’t have counted.
The Sooners won 24-17 over the Tigers, thanks in part to trickery on an Isaiah Sategna III wide-open touchdown. The conference later ruled the play illegal, saying it should have been called for unsportsmanlike conduct.
The second-quarter play appeared to show Sategna running toward the sideline for a substitution, but he stopped near the boundary. Auburn’s defense believed he was out of the game until the ball was snapped and immediately thrown to him for an easy touchdown.
During his postgame interview, Freeze acknowledged he had to “better be quiet,” or risk a he