A controversial penalty on Denver Broncos linebacker Dondrea Tillman proved decisive, giving the Indianapolis Colts a second chance on a game-winning field goal and turning a seeming Broncos escape into a 29-28 defeat in Week 2. So why was Tillman flagged for "leverage?"
In the closing seconds, Colts kicker Spencer Shrader lined up a 60-yard field-goal attempt, which went wide right. But as a replay showed, Tillman leapt near the line of scrimmage, placing his hand on Colts right guard Dalton Tucker to gain extra elevation in an attempt to block the kick. Officials threw the flag, citing a violation of the NFL's leverage rule, which prohibits a player from using a teammate or opponent to vault into the air to block a kick.
"As a defender, you're not allowed to place your hand